Skip to main content

Beta This is a new service - your feedback will help us to improve it.

T Levels

A T Level takes 2 years and gives you a mix of learning in the classroom and a minimum 9 week placement with an employer. This means you’ll learn what a real career is like while you study.

Subjects you can take

There are many different T Level subjects available now. More subjects are coming in the next few years.

You can choose from subjects in the following areas:

  • agriculture, environment and animal care
  • business and administration
  • construction, engineering and manufacturing
  • digital, creative and design
  • education and early years
  • health and science
  • legal, finance and accounting

Entry requirements for T Levels

To start a T Level, you’ll need to be 16 to 19 years old and live in England.

Schools and colleges set their own entry requirements, so you need to check their websites to find out what GCSE grades you need.

Qualification you’ll earn

You’ll get a level 3 qualification from your T Level. You can see what qualification levels mean on GOV.UK.

A T Level is also worth UCAS points which you use to apply to university or another type of higher education.

Find a T Level

Over 200 schools and colleges already offer T Levels. The Department for Education expects more than 400 colleges to start offering them by September 2024.

You can search for colleges and schools currently offering T Levels to find out where your nearest one is and how you can get there.

Find a T Level

After your T Level

After you’ve finished your T Level you could: