Skip to main content

Beta This is a new service - your feedback will help us to improve it.

  1. Home
  2. Your training options
  3. Vocational Technical Qualifications (VTQs)

Vocational Technical Qualifications (VTQs)

VTQs are practical qualifications designed to give you the skills and experience you need for a certain job. They might be for you if you have a strong interest in working in a particular industry.

Types of VTQ qualifications

There are a few different types and levels of VTQs, including:

  • BTEC diplomas: level 1 to 7 qualifications
  • Cambridge Nationals: level 1 and 2 qualifications
  • Cambridge Technicals: level 2 and 3 qualifications
  • T Levels: level 3 qualifications

You can see what the different qualification levels mean on GOV.UK.

Subjects you can take

There are over 2,000 different subjects available across the different VTQs. 

Each subject focuses on a specific job or a broad employment area, such as childcare, engineering or IT.

Entry requirements for VTQs

To start a VTQ, you’ll need to:

  • be 16 or over
  • live in England
  • not already be in full time education

The grades you’ll need to have will depend on the level and type of course you’re applying for.

Find a VTQ

VTQs usually take place at a school or college. 

You can search for schools and colleges currently offering VTQ courses to find out where your nearest one is.

Find a VTQ through the National Careers Service

After your VTQ

After completing a VTQ you could:

  • go straight into work
  • start a type of higher education
  • do an apprenticeship