Skip to main content

Beta This is a new service - your feedback will help us to improve it.

A levels

A levels are subject-based qualifications usually taught in classrooms and assessed by exams.

Subjects you can take

There are more than 40 different A level subjects to choose from.

Most people choose 3 subjects to study but you can take more or fewer. You can also study for a BTEC or other qualification at the same time.

To decide which subjects to take at A level, you should consider which subjects:

  • you're good at or you would enjoy
  • you might need for a certain job or further study after A levels
  • will help you keep your options open if you’re not sure what you want to do in the future

Entry requirements for A levels

To take an A level, you normally need at least:

  • 5 GCSEs at grades 9 to 4
  • grade 6 in the subjects you want to study

You should check with the school or college where you’d like to study to find out exactly what you’ll need.

Qualification you’ll earn

You’ll get a level 3 qualification from each A level you take. You can see what qualification levels mean on GOV.UK.

A levels are also worth UCAS points which you use to apply to university or another type of higher education.

Find A level courses

A levels are usually offered at schools, sixth forms and colleges.

You can search for colleges and schools currently offering A level courses to find out where your nearest one is.

Find A levels through the National Careers Service

After your A levels

After you’ve finished your A levels you could:

  • apply to university or another type of higher education
  • do a higher level apprenticeship
  • find work or join a school leaver scheme